Poetry in Motion for finalists...

Primary pupils from across Thurrock recently participated in the Thurrock Performance Poetry competition, an event that is now in its eighth year and held every March at the Civic Hall in Grays. The event is funded by Thurrock Council and organised by GLC PA, Ms Diane Pierson.

This year, 17 schools from across Thurrock entered in the following categories; Individual, Small Group and Large Group.

Winners are listed below:

  • Belmont Castle – Year 2 individual and Year 5/6 small group 
  • Bonnygate – Year 3/4 small group 
  • Deneholm – Year 3/4 individual (pictured with trophy)
  • Gateway Primary Free School – Year 5/6 large group (pictured with trophies)
  • Stifford Clays – Year 2 small group 
  • St Mary’s – Years 5/6 individual 
  • Tudor Court – Year 2 large group 
  • Woodside – Year 3/4 large group

The event is compered by Mrs Lynda Pritchard and was judged this year by Andrea Winstone and Dave Petrie from Thurrock Council along with Head Judge, Cllr Joy Redsell.

Organiser, Ms Diane Pierson, said “I would like to thank Thurrock Council for funding this event and the judges, compere and my colleagues for their time. It is delightful to see the performances every year and we very much look forward to next year’s event.”

Click Image to Enlarge